# Dashboard and reporting

Quiz Kit's analytics metrics help you understand how your quizzes are performing overall, and how successful they are at achieving your goals.

Quiz Kit collects event data from a customer's first click on your quiz to the time an order is placed or abandoned.&#x20;

Read the [analytics metrics definitions](#analytics-metrics-definitions) to understand what each metric means within your Analytics page.

## In this section

* [Understanding Quiz Kit's reporting](#understanding-quiz-kits-reporting)
  * [Revenue calculation](#revenue-calculation)
  * [Conversion rate calculation](#conversion-rate-calculation)
* [Analytics metrics definitions](#analytics-metrics-definitions)

***

## Understanding Quiz Kit's reporting

With some third-party apps on Shopify, you might notice a discrepancy between your revenue reported by Shopify, and revenue reported by third-party apps, as they often use different technology to determine what's considered "revenue".

Quiz Kit uses Shopify's technology (Web Pixels API) to attribute revenue to Quiz Kit as accurately as possible. Quiz Kit also uses a reasonable attribution window of 10 days. This means if a customer places an order from their quiz results page within 10 days of completion, then it's counted as a conversion.

{% hint style="warning" %}
URL redirects that are set up as Results require one additional step in order to be tracked for conversions. [Learn more about setting up this step](/analytics-and-optimization/analytics-and-tracking/quiz-analytics/url-redirect-analytics.md).
{% endhint %}

### Revenue calculation

{% hint style="info" %}
Your **Analytics** page overview is controlled by the quiz, and the date range that you select at the top of the page. The comparison is based on the date range selected. For example, if you choose to view the last 30 days of data, it's compared to the previous 30 days of data.
{% endhint %}

Quiz Kit measures order conversion by tracking two key events: **direct revenue**, and **add-to-cart activity**.

1. **Direct revenue**: Money earned from completed purchases that came from quiz recommendations. Only actual orders are counted, not just items added to the cart.
2. **Add to cart activity**: This metric is tracked separately to help you understand customer intent and identify potential drop-off points in the buyer journey.

Tracking these metrics helps you:

* Understand actual revenue from completed purchases.
* Monitor "add to cart" actions separately.
* Understand where customers might be dropping off in their buying journey.

{% hint style="info" %}
**Tip**: Test how your conversion rate changes as you adjust your quiz questions and product recommendations. This helps you optimize for better results.
{% endhint %}

### Conversion rate calculation

Conversion rate measures how effectively your quiz results/completions turn into orders. The formula is:

```
Conversion Rate = (Number of Orders / Number of Quiz Completions) × 100
```

**Example**:

* 50 orders from quiz recommendations
* 1,000 total quiz completions
* Conversion rate equation: (50/1000) × 100 = 5%

A 5% conversion rate means that 5% of quiz completions result in orders. This metric can help you benchmark your quiz performance and identify opportunities for optimization.

***

## Analytics metrics definitions

* **Abandonment rate**: The percentage of customers that didn't complete the quiz
* **Add to cart**: The number of clicks on the **Add to cart** button&#x20;
* **Average order value:** The average spend per order from quiz-recommended products within the attribution window.
* **Completions**: The number of times a customer finishes the quiz (ie gets their results)
* **Conversion rate**: The calculation for how effectively your quizzes turn quiz completions into orders
* **Email/SMS captures**: The number of email addresses and phone numbers that were input into the quiz (if it was completed)
* **Engagements**: The number of times a new or returning customer initiates interaction (ie the first click) with your quiz
* **Revenue**: Money earned from customer purchases that directly came from quiz recommendations (attribution window is 10 days from the date of quiz completion)
* **Top answers**: Quiz answers that were selected the most often
* **Top recommendations**: Products that were recommended (on the results page) the most often
* **Total orders**: The number of products placed from the quiz results page, within the attribution window


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```
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